The Simple Pleasures of Life

 

My pearl necklace and fluffy blanket, two other simple pleasures I enjoy.

My pearl necklace and fluffy blanket, two other simple pleasures I enjoy.

  • The smile and giggle of a little child.
  • Seeing a little one year old alternate between his real bottle and a toy baby doll bottle. 
  • Hugs and kisses from a two year old. 
  • Morning coffee. 
  • Photography.
  • Finding a new spiritual truth during your devotions.
  • Discovering treasures from thrift stores and garage sales. 
  • Finishing writing a song and being pleased with the results. 
  • Having a toddler run into your arms while excitedly calling your name.
  • Chamomile or mint tea in my mug in one hand and a good book in the other.
  • Deep theological conversations. 
  • Free stuff
  • Just enjoying the company of friends and family. 
  • Knowing that you have been forgiven of all you’ve ever done wrong. 
  • Long talks with my parents and older brother. 
  • Family dance time. 
  • Hearing a two year old pray when he gets hurt. 
  • Watching people grow up and learn new things. 
  • A good song that touches my heart and turns my eyes to heaven. 
  • Any kind of chocolate. 
  • Being in a bookstore and searching out all the books that I want to read.
  • Hearing your little sister share her heart with you and try to copy what you do. 
  • Talking on bananas like they are phones with your two year old brother. 
  • Driving with the music loud with my older brother and just hanging out together. 
  • Meeting someone who shares my passions in life. 
  • Praying with family and/or friends. 
  • Seeing miracles happen in the lives around you. 
  • Seeing how God works all our for good both in our lives and in the lives of those we know.
  • Finding cute and modest clothing. 
  • Seeing flowers blossom in the spring and the grass become bright green
  • Hearing modern arrangements of age old hymns. 
  • Talking to my cousin Elyssa. 
  • Going to conferences with hundreds of like minded believers. 
  • The feeling of being productive. 
  • Getting comments on my blog(s). 
  • Worshiping with thousands of other believers because it’s like a little glimpse of what heaven will be like.
  • Brainstorming about ministry opprotunities and ways to help others. 
  • Writing poetry. 
  • Sitting on the edge of a dock with my Bible and just looking out across the lake while doing my devos and dangling my feet in the water.
  • Getting emails or letters in the mail.
  • Watching the leaves fall in autumn. 
  • Being able to play a song on the violin, piano, or guitar well. 
  • Hearing stories of redemption.
  • Going to camp. 
  • Finding heroes of the faith and great role models. 
  • Rejoicing in the wonder of God and all that He’s done. 

 I know that was a long list but there are so many things that make up my life that make it so refreshing. Those simple daily things that make you smile may be not much to anybody else, but to you they are like a breath of fresh air. They are the things that can transform a dull and sad day to something joyous and exciting. What are those things for you? What makes life strangely fun and brings a smile to your face? Leave a comment or even post on your own blog about these simple things (link back in a comment or such to tell me that you posted). I can’t wait to hear from you!

8 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life

8 responses to “The Simple Pleasures of Life

  1. Hi Olivia,

    I am a complete stranger, but a Christian nonetheless. :)

    I got here from the Imperishable Beauty blog, and I was extremely impressed with what you and Abigail have done. All this week I’ve been hoping to find a blog encouraging femininity, modesty, and true beauty, in everyday girls. Your site is just what I was searching for and very refreshing. I will definitely be reading more of it.

    I wanted to stop by and become acquainted with you, since I can already tell you have a deep love for the Lord that is reflected in every word you write. It’s wonderful to meet someone with such an apparent devotion to God.

    In Him,
    ~Kylie

  2. Alton

    I wish I had known you liked deep theological discussions, it might have impacted my decision about going to MBC this summer.

    • Haha. Well we’ll miss you this summer. There is this new guy counseling and then James and Ben. Sam (my bro) is doing teen camp though and that will be sort of weird… :D I hope you have a great summer but it would of been fun to have a deep chat. :)

  3. Olivia,

    Thanks so much for your comment. I was happy to hear back from you.

    It’s quite funny that you got here from The Rebelution’s twitter, because I wondered if you were one of the many visitors in our huge spike the past few days. God timed their support perfectly because I was just wondering if anything I was doing with KOF and such was worth it. God is so good!

    I am also looking forward to reading your blog in the future. Your posts are very thoughtful and well-written, and very enjoyable to read. May God guide you as you follow Him.

    I look forward to commenting and getting to know you a bit better.

    In His Love,
    ~Kylie

  4. Oh, and I forgot to say that I totally understand the mix up. It’s been a long day for me too. I still knew exactly what you were saying though!

    Do you mind if I add you to my blogroll?

    Because of Him,
    ~Kylie

  5. Your Brother

    I’m so proud of what God has been doing in you Olivia! I’ll miss our friendship as we go our separate ways this fall… but I’m sure college won’t keep us from hanging out and listening to really loud music in my car! Love ya sis!

  6. Hey Olivia,

    I just happened to fall across your blog on a read at MMMinistry. Anyways, I don’t know that I could come up with a list on the spot, but when I’m attentive, reading my Bible and praying are huge ones for me. Another would be listening to music, or a song that lifts Jesus.

    Camden

    I read on MMMinistry, and I noticed that in your comment, you mentioned Sean McDowell at a conference this Spring. That doesn’t happen to be the Duluth Blitz conference, does it?

    • I re-read down your list, and it clicked when I saw “talk to my cousin Elyssa.” Yup, she’s mentioned you to me! (and since I don’t really believe in chance, it was more of a God-thing that let me find your blog). I love worshipping God with like minded believers, whether it’s in church, or like you said at huge conferences. Another simple pleasure I enjoy are those God-things. =)

      Camden

Leave a comment