Hope For the Prostitute – Introduction

The American church is often plagued by a horrible disease. It’s a disease that effects how we look at others and how we minister to them. It’s a disease that causes our ministry and personal spiritual lives to suffer. It’s a disease that is deadly and it’s effects have already been seen. What’s this disease? It’s as simple as pride, which leads to self-righteousness and judgmental attitude toward others.
These have all plagued humanity since the fall, but I want to address how it’s present and effecting our current time and culture. In so many Christians, including myself, there is often a focus on how naughty “those people” are. “Those people” that are outside the church and doing “really bad things” that are not usually found inside the church. Those “huge” sins like drug addictions, homosexuality, murder, theft, sexual abuse, and prostitutes.
Now prostitution is never even mentioned in our churches. In almost fourteen years of growing up in a church I’ve never heard it mentioned once. It’s one of those “outside” things that is dirty and we don’t like to touch us. It’s something we may fight against in the form of not wanting strip clubs and such in our neighborhoods, but that’s just about it. We often see prostitution as something “out there” when it’s actually in our neighborhoods and communities, it’s even in the Bible belt! (I have an interesting story about that…)
So how does this go back to the things like pride and self-righteousness?  A prostitute’s sin is blatant and easy to see and recognize, for a self-righteous person, they don’t even think that anything is wrong. It’s so easy to forget that if it wasn’t for the grace of God we would be worse then they.
My main goal for this series is to focus on reaching those we term the lowest of the low with the gospel. But before we do that we need to lay down our pride, self-righteousness, and judgmental attitudes. Now the reason I’m focusing on prostitutes is because it’s something that has been laid so heavily on my heart. God has caused my heart to ache for the women enslaved to sexual sin and selling their bodies. It’s also an ignored subject in the church and as I’ve been studying it, I’ve found that it is often misunderstood, especially by the young people in the church.
The biggest goal for this series is ultimately that God is glorified and the gospel is preached. These men and women need the gospel so badly, just like we do! I was to encourage you to be the hands and feet of Jesus to everyone but especially in our sex driven culture with it’s perversion and sin. From the pregnant teen sitting in our pews to the prostitute on the streets of Las Vegas, it’s our job to proclaim the gospel to them and to love them. That’s why I believe that this is a topic worthy of my time and energy.

{Finally I’m posting the first part to my series entitled Hope For the Prostitute. Big thanks to my friend Josh for being my super duper editor man. Note: I hope to aproach this topic in a way that is clean, pure, and holy while not denying the ugliness, evilness, and sinfulness that surrounds it. In no way will I disguise the truth or try to paint it as a prettier picture but I will not be blunt for the sake of being blunt. Thank you all for your time and (maybe) attention.}

The American church is often plagued by a horrible disease. It’s a disease that effects how we look at others and how we minister to them. It’s a disease that causes our ministry and personal spiritual lives to suffer. It’s a disease that is deadly and it’s effects have already been seen. What’s this disease? It’s as simple as pride, which leads to self-righteousness and judgmental attitude toward others.

These have all plagued humanity since the fall, but I want to address how it’s present and effecting our current time and culture. In so many Christians, including myself, there is often a focus on how naughty “those people” are. “Those people” that are outside the church and doing “really bad things” that are not usually found inside the church. Those “huge” sins like drug addictions, homosexuality, murder, theft, sexual abuse, and prostitution.

Now prostitution is never even mentioned in our churches. In almost fourteen years of growing up in a church I’ve never heard it mentioned once. It’s one of those “outside” things that is dirty and we don’t like to touch us. It’s something we may fight against in the form of not wanting strip clubs and such in our neighborhoods, but that’s just about it. We often see prostitution as something “out there” when it’s actually in our neighborhoods and communities, it’s even in the Bible belt! (I have an interesting story about that…)

So how does this go back to the things like pride and self-righteousness?  A prostitute’s sin is blatant and easy to see and recognize, for a self-righteous person, they don’t even think that anything is wrong. It’s so easy to forget that if it wasn’t for the grace of God we would be worse then they.

My main goal for this series is to focus on reaching those we term the lowest of the low with the gospel. But before we do that we need to lay down our pride, self-righteousness, and judgmental attitudes. Now the reason I’m focusing on prostitutes is because it’s something that has been laid so heavily on my heart. God has caused my heart to ache for the women enslaved to sexual sin and selling their bodies. It’s also an ignored subject in the church and as I’ve been studying it, I’ve found that it is often misunderstood, especially by the young people in the church.

The biggest goal for this series is ultimately that God is glorified and the gospel is preached. These men and women need the gospel so badly, just like we do! I want to encourage you to be the hands and feet of Jesus to everyone but especially in our sex driven culture with it’s perversion and sin. From the pregnant teen sitting in our pews to the prostitute on the streets of Las Vegas, it’s our job to proclaim the gospel to them and to love them. That’s why I believe that this is a topic worthy of my time and energy.

11 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Faith, Hope for the Prostitute, The Gospel

11 responses to “Hope For the Prostitute – Introduction

  1. Amen! This is something that God has placed strong convictions in my heart about… in fact, it was one of the things God saved me from when I came to know Jesus personally. I am really encouraged that you are stepping up to write against self-righteousness in the light of the power of the gospel. I can’t wait to read more of the series. :)

  2. Olivia Sanders

    My heart also weighs heavily for those enslaved outwardly AND inwardly, and prostitutes have a very direct place of compassion. (There, but for the grace of God, am I!) I only wish there was something of substance I could do to reach out to these loved ones of God, because all the compassion in the world, by itself, doesn’t hold meaning for any one of those precious lives.

    God used 1 Cor. 6:19-20 to genuinely change my life from the heart outward, and it is my prayer that He would also use the saints to take the gospel to the enslaved and the prostitute that they would know that Christ purchased them by his blood — that even our righteousness is filthy rags in his sight. Each life is precious to God. It should be precious in our sight, too! “And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?’ Then I said, ‘Here am I! Send me.'” (Isaiah 6:8)

    Actually, the only reason I commented in the first place is because I’m curious about the story you mentioned about prostitution in the Bible Belt. Were you going to get into that later in the series?

    Thanks for the thoughtful post! It was very edifying.

    • Thank you for your beautiful and heartfelt comment! It’s so rare to find those with similar passions because of the rarity of even the awareness of slavery and prostitution. Many that are aware may still not be moved by it, which grieves me.

      I wasn’t planning on sharing the story formally… so I’ll do it here. We were driving through southern Tennessee (or was it Northern AL?) on our way to visit friends in Alabama (on our way to Florida). We needed to take a bathroom break (as well as freshen up before stopping at our friend’s) and were trying to find a gas station to stop at. We found this place that was OK (but not very good). Then we saw all the signs in the surrounding area…. “adult book shop” and “Boobie Bungalow” (no joke). Hopefully needless to say… my dad didn’t let us stop there in what we named “the Bible Belt’s Little Den of Iniquity”. End of the story is that we ended up stopping at this horrible run down gas station that was beyond disgusting and I felt that freshening up would be better done in the car. :)

      Maybe it’s not as exciting or as interesting as I find it… but it was our little adventure and it will be forever engraved upon my mind. :D

      • Olivia Sanders

        I wish that had been an isolated “den of iniquity,” but unfortunately what you found is all too common! It grieves me so much to hear about, and see, these things… I actually pass one of these “men’s clubs” (or so they call themselves) on my way to school every morning this summer. On a similiar note, I recently discovered two human trafficking rings have been crushed in the area where I live (both had operated only minutes away from where I went to school last year and were located on busy streets where I did a lot of my shopping, etc.) No investigation ensued; the girls (who had been sex trafficked out of their home country) were merely deported to their country of origin. I couldn’t believe this was so close to home! It infuriates and enrages me, but at the same time I feel helpless.

        I pray that God would take our passion and use it in some way we don’t know yet to magnify His supremacy in these darkest corners of our culture.

        • Oh yes! We live in a small area but in a nearby town there is an exotic dancing place and a billboard for it that we pass semi frequently as well as the largest nearby town has a few different forms of “adult entertainment”. The last few times we’ve gone there it’s really distressed since I know much more about the horridness of it now.

          I echo your prayer, every bit of it!

  3. Olivia Sanders

    Can I just say, wow — I really love your blog! I feel like I need to read ALL of it! :)

  4. Wow, Olivia, what heartfelt words. I’m really thinking that this series is what needs to be shared. I’m so impressed by everything you say on your blog. I just started my own, and I’m still adjusting to the magnitude of the Internet universe! I will keep coming back, and I added you under my blog list. Thank you for sharing your passions-they are always truthful and amazing!
    Elyse

  5. Hi Olivia,
    I’m looking forward to reading more of this series! You certainly do have a passion for it, and I can already tell that it’s going to be absolutely fantastic. :)

    Love you!
    –Ab

  6. Madri Bruwer

    Good morning, Olivia!

    It is encouraging to read about the passion our Lord has put on your heart. May you find great joy in following our Lord every step of the way!

    It is indeed so true that our Lord sets free and gives new beginnings to these dear ones. And it is indeed true that the Church IS our Lord’s answer for loving them back to life!

    Madri
    (Privileged to reach out to women involved in prostitution and high-risk children in Cape Town, South Africa, with Straatwerk/Streetwork. See http://www.straatwerk.org.za.)

    • Thank you so much for your comment, it was very encouraging! I also checked out Straatwerk and it sounds awesome! I will be praying for you and for the ministry there. God bless you!

  7. Madri Bruwer

    Thank you VERY MUCH for your prayers!

    I want to encourage you to continue to STAND & SPEAK UP for the people our Lord has put on you heart!!!

    His resurrection power is available to you!
    madri

Leave a Reply

