Happy Birthday Blog!

*Happy sigh* It’s now been one year since “Nobody416” was “born” (June 26th). I had started writing a little before and I felt that words without someone to hear them are pointless (I have since changed my mind on that matter slightly). I had very little clue what blogs were and how to get one… all I knew is that the Rebelution had started as one. :) I had the silly idea that if you started a blog you would end up with thousands and thousands of people reading it, a book deal, and a national conference. My current response to that is… “yeah right”.

Even though I haven’t been offered a book deal or a chance to talk to thousands… I’ve learned a huge deal through blogging this last year and met some amazing people! I’ve had the chance to make some wonderful friendships that I would never of had the chance if it wasn’t for this blog. Both casual friendships (I term them my “blog palls”) and some of my closest friends. I’ve had some contact with some people big in the blog world and even the assistant to one of my heroes Leslie Ludy.

I’ve also seen growth as a writer. I look back on some of my first posts and I cringe at times and I’m sure I’ll do the same with my current writing in the future. It’s amazing to see how much natural progress has come from just sitting down and writing. Writing has produced spiritual growth as well as I’ve learned how to articulate my beliefs better.

So now I want to hear from you! All of you that have stayed in the backgrounds and refuse to comment (or rarely do), come on out and let me know who you are! I would also love to hear what some of your favorite posts have been. Also, what would you like to see me write about in the future?

Because of a very busy past few days (and my longing to go to bed)… I’m going to stretch the celebrating out for awhile with some new fun stuff. Stay tuned in the next week or so for a intro to a new series (or two ;)) and maybe even a book giveaway! Thank you all for your support and readership, without you I would have no one to write to! God bless!

5 Comments

Filed under blog, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Happy Birthday Blog!

  1. Joshua

    “All of you that have stayed in the backgrounds and refuse to comment (or rarely do), come on out and let me know who you are!”

    Hmm… that sounds familiar…

  2. Shawn

    Ha ha. :) I always read your posts but I don’t know what to comment on them about. :)

  3. I’m SOOOOOO stinking happy you started blogging Olivia! heehee. ^_^ I can’t imagine not having met you–If nothing else had come out of my blogging, meeting you would definitely have been reward enough! Looking forward to seeing what the next year brings.

    Love you!
    –Ab

  4. Olivia Sanders

    Hi! This is probably super random, but I stumbled across your blog on Google when I was googling something for Leslie Ludy… it’s just wierd scanning your blog and realizing how much common ground there is between us. Seriously, I think we are the same person! ;-) Sharing the same name is just the beginning (I’m Olivia, too) — I could have written every word of this blog it sounds so much like my life! But I am sure not as eloquently… you are indeed a gifted writer.

    All that to say finding your blog and realizing there are others out there who share a passionate commitment to the gospel and living well is a huge encouragement since most of the people with whom I am surrounded in my “daily grind” share little, if anything, in common with me (and I am referring not just to having faith in Jesus Christ, but having a living, passionate love for his Name and his gospel above all else). I just spent the last year at a very secular, liberal university (I was a college freshman) and I will tell you that it is only by the grace of God and the sacred truth hidden in Jeremiah 1:5 that today I have a radically life-changing and dynamic relationship with my Lord, Christ Jesus, seemingly against all odds!

    I didn’t mean to talk your leg off; just to say thanks for your presence, and that God is using you in hidden ways to strengthen his body of believers, even when you are totally unaware.

    Praise God that you are Hebrews 10:24 and 12:1 in action!

    Just curious: Have you been to the girltalk blog by Carolyn Mahaney and her daughters? It’s one of my favs! ;-)

  5. Lydia Yarborough

    Hi :-) just so you know, more people may be reading your blogs than you think. I don’t have my own blog or anything but I stumbled across your’s a while back and have thoroughly enjoyed reading it. You’re an inspiration to all ages and you speak truth…I’m almost 21 and am a pastor’s daughter by the way. Keep it up and don’t be discouraged. You have a lot to say and God has gifted you with the ability to write. :-D It’s so wonderful to see young ladies who have the passion you have and to have an actual understanding of what is truth and not what is the “organized churches” view.

    Blessings to you,
    Lydia

Leave a Reply

