April Poetry: Untitled Musings

monthlymondaypoetrysmaller-1

 Here is my poetry for this month. I wrote this in early March after being inspired by this article by Leslie Ludy (Note: this article is very blunt about sexual sins in men so use discretion before reading.) May God bless you all and I have some posts that are formulating in my mind right now so come back soon! (Also, I’m horrible at naming poems and such so if you have any ideas let me know!)

Purity mocked,

Holiness scoffed,

They shout us lies

Telling us to compromise

 

 

“Freedom in Christ” they proclaim

And so trample His perfect name

Don’t they know we are to sin no more?

If they do the don’t care and after their gods they whore

 

 

They say that to Him they belong

But yet they worship their own gods

The flattery from pagan

Is joy in their hearts

Their selfish desires

Do not want to part

The horrible perversion

They bring to the holy place

The have totally forgotten

The true meaning of grace.

 

 

Yahweh has called us

We must obey

To live different than this fallen world

To live holy everyday.

 

 

God’s standards are high

For those whom with Him identify

If He has saved us from the pits of hell

Let us rise up and serve Him well

If we are set apart spirit and soul

Then He can begin to make us whole.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Everyday Life, Faith, Monthly Monday Poetry, Passion

4 responses to “April Poetry: Untitled Musings

  1. That was a great poem Olivia! I forgot about Poetry Monday, so I’m going to go see if I can come up with something. LOL!

    Have a great week!

  2. Hi Olivia,
    My name is Heidi Williamson.
    I’ve met Abigail and joined the Monthly Monday poetry group. I’ve also browsed your and Abigail’s blog Imperishable Beauty. I absolutely love it. A lot of articles are what I’ve wanted to say, but don’t know how.
    This is a good poem. I haven’t read anything by Leslie Ludy yet, though I’m familiar with titles.
    Hope you have a good day and keep writing poetry.
    This world needs writers who aren’t afraid to write about God.
    May God bless you and keep you

  3. Hi Olivia, Thanks for the poem. It was a warning to not drag Christ’s name through the dirt. When we allow freedoms to lead us into places we shouldn’t be it is terribly wrong.

    Maybe you meant false Christians that name the name of Christ? But I do know that each of us are guilty at times of not living up to our dear Savior’s standards for us too.

    I hate it when I stray off the path ,..if even for a little while. There is no peace in that condition,…but only conviction.

    Aren’t you so thankful for the conviction of the Holy Spirit,…who loves us and warns us. It is this strong conviction that bears witness with my spirit that I am a child of God. And whom a father loveth He chasteneth, corrects and sets straight. And when we are back on the pathg the peace returns.

    Oh what a blessing to be His child. To be loved so much!

  4. Wow….I’ve got goosebumps! This is incredibly powerful Olivia. I think it’s so interesting how sin clings to our hearts with such fervor with the promise of joy, when all it can truly offer is temporary thrills. The only real, pure, and honest joy that can inhabit our souls is Jesus Christ. How can we constantly pervert His name by associating it with our filthy lives? The only way to escape this constant trap is to become His…as soon as we completely give ourselves to Him, our sins are cast as far as the east is from the west.

    Very thought provoking. Thank you so much for sharing this Olivia. I love you!
    In His arms,
    –Ab

Leave a Reply

