Project Rescue

 I’m obsessed. I realized that quite awhile ago but it’s hitting me again.  What is this obsession of mine, you ask? What is this thing that when I hear it I instantly sit up strait in my chair and excitedly look at my friends with a smile on my face? Or make me want to break down weeping with sorrow and pain? This is a relatively new obsession for me and has grown as my knowledge grows. So what is it? Slavery. Particularly when it comes to young women who are sex slaves. It breaks my heart and all I want to do is to weep with these girls.

 I have to wonder if some of you broke out your calendar, checking to see if there was any “justice” or “freedom” holiday. :) No, it’s no holiday, unless “Olivia is Uber Passionate Again Day” but that happens almost weekly… maybe it should just be a day of the week. Wouldn’t that be fun? :) And yet it’s more serious than just that. It’s one of the things that God has laid on my heart with an incredible burden and I can’t ignore this call on my life to pursue justice.

A few months ago I was looking around Leslie Ludy’s website and stumbled across Project Rescue. I was so excited to find this anti slavery mission that was not only working with mainly women and doing mostly aftercare work but was also mainly located in INDIA!!!! (Those of you who don’t know, I also have a slight, moderate ok, huge obsession with India and a burden for the people there.) Last night I looked at their site again and was overcome with a renewed passion for these young women and a deep desire to help.

 Not only is Project Rescue providing medical care, education, counseling, and a home to victims of human trafficking, they are offering hope and freedom in Christ! They are boldly and apologetically a Christian mission and they share the light of the gospel to those in the darkness. So please go to to their website and check them out! It’s such a fantastic and needed ministry. Just think about the ripe harvest waiting to be gathered when it comes to these sex slaves! What a desire for love and hope that must dwell inside of them and there is no one else who can better satisfy their desire than Jesus! For He has already said, “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

 So what can we do to help? Well of course we can pray. That is a huge thing that is so important. But in addition to that I think that educating ourselves and others is a great place to start. Project Rescue have some great article links on their site like this article from the New York Times about sex slavery in Asia. Also you can find stories of former slaves on their site as well. If you are on Facebook I would encourage you to join the Project Rescue cause as well as the group they have. Not only is this showing support for the organization but it can also open up windows of opportunity to share with friends. One last thing that is unique is that you can buy items made from the survivors in Nepal HERE.  Pashmina shawls, hats (they are really really cute!), journals, bags, and table runners. All very beautiful and  are giving these women a chance at a new life (and you don’t have to worry about the workers being paid fare wages for once!).

 God loves the fatherless and the opressed and hates injustice. We are the hands and feet of Christ on earth. Our responce to seeing injustice is action, or at least it should be. What will your responce be?

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith, Justice, Missions, Passion, Slavery

One response to “Project Rescue

  1. You know, I’ve felt God putting this on my heart lately too. It just wretches your heart reading those stories. We should try and come up with a way to help, somehow. Spreading the word is a good place to start, but there’s got to be more we can do.

Leave a Reply

