“The Motions”

 Are any of you like me in the way that certain songs have this way of gripping your heart with a strange intensity? Do they seem to speak to your very soul in ways that words alone can’t and make you want to break down crying, raise your arms and praise God, fall to your knees in adoration, grip your fists in some sort of fiery passion that goes through your entire body? For me, songs have had such an impact on my spiritual life. Now the Bible is the most important thing for our growth, obviously, and I am not for a moment taking away from written words, but there is something about words put to music that is powerful.

 Certain songs encourage me, some songs inspire me, some songs make me want to praise my wondrous Jesus with every ounce of my being, and some songs even remind me to pray for certain people. I have really been ministered to by songs like “Psalms 73 (My God is Enough)” (Barlowgirl), “In the Light” (DC Talk), “Enough” (Christ Tomlin), “Beginning and the End” (Leeland), “Hands and Feet” (Audio Adrenaline), and a new song I just discovered, “The Motions” by Matthew West. These are the amazing lyrics to this song:

“This might hurt, it’s not safe
But I know that I’ve gotta make a change
I don’t care if I break,
At least I’ll be feeling something
‘Cause just okay is not enough
Help me fight through the nothingness of life

I don’t wanna go through the motions
I don’t wanna go one more day
without Your all consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking,
“What if I had given everything,
instead of going through the motions?”

No regrets, not this time
I’m gonna let my heart defeat my mind
Let Your love make me whole
I think I’m finally feeling something
‘Cause just okay is not enough
Help me fight through the nothingness of this life

take me all the way (take me all the way)
take me all the way (’cause I don’t wanna go through the motions)
take me all the way (I know I’m finally feeling something real)
take me all the way”

 Chew a little on these amazing words and let me know what you think.

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Entertainment, Everyday Life, Faith, Music, Passion

One response to ““The Motions”

  1. I know exactly what you’re talking about! Music does that to me all the time. I think it’s a very valid way of God speaking to us. I especially like the part in this song that says “No regrets, not this time. I’m gonna let my heart defeat my mind.” With God, we have the liberty to do this–He becomes our heart, and we need to let Him overcome our mind, because our earthly thoughts are imperfect and constantly rebelling against their Origin. We need to give Him full reign over our lives. Very thought provoking lyrics. Thanks for sharing them. Matthew West has some great music. I was able to see him in concert a couple of years ago–it was really good.

    Hey, I wanted to let you know that I am going to start a monthly blogging challenge over at my blog. On the first Monday of every month (starting February 2nd), I thought it would be cool to get several bloggers to post their original works of poetry on their blogs and then link up over at my blog. I thought it’d be a good way to discover more brothers and sisters in Christ and encourage/inspire each other in our relationships with Him. I will be posting more info on it this Saturday, so be sure to check my blog for instructions! I’d LOVE it if you’d participate, and share it with your friends too! The more people I can get involved, the more rewarding it will be for everybody. :)

    In His arms,
    –Abigail

Leave a Reply

