Set Apart Strangers

“We profess to be strangers and pilgrims, seeking after a country of our own, yet we settle down in the most un-stranger-like fashion, exactly as if we were quite at home and meant to stay as long as we could. I don’t wonder apostolic miracles have died. Apostolic living certainly has.” ~ Amy Carmichael

Need I say anymore, truly? I think this simple quote wraps it all up. My prayer tonight is that I will truly become a stranger and pilgrim, seeking after a country of my own. That I will live like an apostle day in and day out. That with the Lord’s help I will slay giants with a single stone and walk through the fires unburnt. For I am not of this world, I am a heavenly priesthood and therefore need to be living my life in set apart devotion to the Lord. Not because it makes me look more religious or puffs up my vain ego, but because I have a God that rescued me from the pits of hell and I want to make my every moment into a living sacrifice to Him. The hard part about living sacrifices opposed to dead ones is that the living one keep crawling off the altar. So I need to keep placing it back on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Everyday Life, Faith, heroes, Passion

Leave a Reply

