Footprints

cimg2559 I was walking along the warm Florida beach last Monday. It was a beautiful day and being in such a warm place while at home was -20 degrees outside was very refreshing. As I walked along I made footprints. There is something about footprints in the sand that has captivated me for a long time. Something so seemingly elegant of a path that shows where you came from and where you are going. I was disapointed when the footprints were soon washed away by the tide.

 It got me thinking if I was making the footprint of my life on sand or cement. As lovely as footprints in the sand may be, they fade quickly. They are there one moment and gone the next with the ever changing tide. Footprints in cement however last for (almost) forever. They make a lasting impression so that even when the cement is dry (especially when it’s dry) they still last.

 Is my life a lasting impression? Will there be signs that I ever touched this world? Am I doing things that will last beyond my own life and change the lives of others? Is what I am doing everyday making an impact on the kingdom of God or eternity?

 Far too often the answer is no. My footprints are only made in the sand… and someday they will be no more. But by God’s grace, hopefully I am leaving more and more footprints in cement. Those that will make a change. I pray that somehow, even in a little way, I can touch this world. I can leave an impression that is not gone once I die but will make a true difference in this world.

 That is one of my prayers for this new year. I want to make sure that my life counts. That can only happen with the help of the Lord because I possess nothing in myself that can make my life count, but through God I can make a difference and leave a legacy. Leaving a legacy is something that most teenagers do not talk about, but life is a passing vapor, and soon we will all be gone.

“What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes” James 4:14b

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Everyday Life, Faith

2 responses to “Footprints

  1. Dad

    Excellent post, Olivia. However, there are plenty of times when we can be very grateful that the footprints that we leave were only in sand. When we think about unkind things we have said or done, or sinful and rebellious actions we have taken, we can be grateful that God’s grace will wash over THOSE footprints like a giant wave and wash them completely away. Thanks be to Jesus for taking away our sin on the cross!

  2. Beautifully put! Leaving a legacy is something that I have strongly desired for about the last year of my life…giving the world something to grasp onto, that keeps Christ alive through my life long after I am dead. I had never heard it said the way you put it, and it created a perfect mental picture.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! They greatly inspired me, as always. :)
    –Abigail

Leave a Reply

