Where to Set Our Eyes

So many things are constantly vying for my precious time and attention. So many things that, even if they themselves are good, are pulling me away from Christ. So many sins that love to cling to me and temptations that are strong. We live in a world where it is not easy to live lives of true devotion to Jesus, but has it ever truly been?

Last week God convicted me or something in my life that I had not been doing a good job of doing and needed to change. I felt horrible for ever letting things get that way and I felt like I had failed. Then a verse I had memorized came to mind and hit me stronger then ever before. “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

I realized that it was setting my eyes on Christ that I needed to do. Not just become determined to not do it again or try to change on my own accord, but to focus on Christ. To rest in His arms and to be given the strength that I so desperately need from Him. Only through pouring myself out for Him and remembering the blood that He shed on my behalf, only then can there be any progress and holiness.

We can’t be setting our eyes on the sin that clings or to the temptations that surround us. We need to acknowledge them, yes. But we can’t be dwelling on them and we can’t be fixated on them. As my mom tells me, “We can’t always dwell on our problems, because when we do that we just keep spiraling down into a pit and we stay in that pit. What we have to do is deal with it and move on.”

Jesus Christ and the wonderful cross, which is our life and salvation, is what we need to be fixated with. We need to totally be caught up in Him, and that should overflow into every area of our life. As we seek the Lord with all of our hearts, our entire lives will be effected by that. The key to everything is the gospel. It is the answer to all our problems. I think that is just wonderful. That God gave us the blood of Christ and through Him we have not only salvation, but He has also given us the power to face anything through the cross! It’s such a wonderful reality!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Everyday Life, Faith, Jesus

Leave a Reply

