Women Who Fear the Lord

“We don’t want life to pass us by, because this is the best time ever. Acting your age and being silly is fun!” 17-year-old Cammie explains.

 

This is the so called “message” of the pop trio The Rubyz that was featured in Brio’s magazine for teen girls a few months back (click here to see the full article). I was very unimpressed by this pop group. These are the girls that Brio are telling girls to look up to and to see as role models. Girls that love to go shopping, get their nails done, have sleepovers, and go to the movies. Are these really the girls that are worth emulating? I personally want to look up to girls and women that are giving their all for Christ and are living set-apart, poured out lives for Him. I want to look up to people who are constantly trying their best to die to this sinful world we live in.

I have found that in many women, some of the past, and some that I know today. People of the past like Amy Carmichael, Corrie Ten Boom, Elizabeth Elliot, Jonni Erickson Tada, just to list a few. Young women in our present day like Kaysie (from Alabaster Box), Lauren and Abigail (from Pearls and Diamonds), Columbine martyr Rachel Scott, former camp counselors of mine that I know see going off as missionaries and have such a passion for Christ, and there are many women that aren’t as young that I have been able to look up to. Like my mother, Mrs. Edwards, Mrs. Nunley (both moms of good friends of mine), Caroline Buer (one of the sweetest ladies I have ever known who also goes to my church), Leslie Ludy, and many others. God has blessed me with woman that don’t spend their days leisurely at the mall getting their nails done, but serving the Lord in both big and small ways. They have faced real trials and have still remained faithful to the Lord.

These are the kind of women that I look at and say, “that’s what I want to be like when I am older, and even now”, not girls like the Rubyz or many other girls that Christians tell us to look up to, that don’t really deserve it. We often times look up to women because they are in the spotlight instead of because their character and how they live their life. Proverbs 31: 30 says, “Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” Those women who fear the Lord and those we should praise. If there are any teen girls reading this who have been looking for women to have as role models, the women that I have listed are ones that I highly recommend. J

6 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Everyday Life, Faith, heroes

6 responses to “Women Who Fear the Lord

  1. This is SO true! I also have been saddened by the generally accepted examples of Godly people these days. The fire is slowly growing dimmer and dimmer in the youth of our generation. I’m so blessed to have the incredible influences of many Godly Christian women in my life, main one that comes to mind being my momma. I praise God that He’s given me such an amazing example of what a woman should be–she is definitely a beautiful gem in the eyes of the Lord! I am constantly amazed by the values and qualities that God has given her and though I take them for granted sometimes, I am so grateful to have those precious signs of a faithful and truly beautiful woman in my life.

    I am so encouraged to meet people like you who have such a passion for Christ and want to be flawless in His eyes. Your words and spirit radiate such a contagious fervor! Keep it up sister! :)

    In His arms,
    –Abigail

  2. Yeah, my mom has found that for adults too… it’s so sad. It’s such a blessing to have great mothers!!!! I have no clue what I would do without mine. (Though I totally get the taking her for granted part… :( )

    And thank you so much! To God alone be the glory! And right back at you Abigail! It’s been so nice to get to know you! God bless you a ton on your walk with him! (I am using a lot of exclamations… :) )

    In Christ,
    Olivia

  3. Anonymous

    This is true. But what’s the opposite thing that we’re supposed to be doing? What are the big and small ways in which we stand out as Christian women?

  4. Dearest Olivia, you almost made me cry when I read this post! And to see my name among the few you listed… wow, I never realized. Thank you. I find such comfort and hope through your life (and many other young women) because you are sincerely passionate about living for Jesus and not looking over your shoulder to see who is watching or what is popular. The Lord is so pleased; “For without faith it is impossible to please Him, for He who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.” (Heb. 11:6) You are fervently seeking Him, and that is pleasing to Christ.

    Continue on my dear friend. Your light is bright.

  5. Kaysie: Awww! You mean so much to me Kaysie and I am so honored to have you as a friends and as an example of Godly singleness and a Godly life. From the time I’ve met you I’ve seen you as such a role model to me. God bless you so much Kaysie!!!

  6. Pingback: A Lesson From Prejean « Nobody416

Leave a Reply

