Glorifying God

 

Lately God has been seeming to point me to something he wants me to truly learn and grasp. It’s been popping up in so many places and the timing of them makes me convinced God is the one behind it all (but isn’t he behind everything anyway?).

A little more than a week ago I was talking to my good friend Josh on Gmail chat. We were on a random topic and were saying something about plans (it’s a long story). He asked me if I had a plan and I said my plan was to live my life in a way that will bring glory to God. “Good plan” was his reply. Then he did something very typical for him, or as I say, “Joshish“, “How are you going to do that in the next 5 minutes?”. I was not sure and I asked him how he was going to do it and he didn’t know either.

Well that night I read Colossians 3 for my devotions (I follow a scheduled plan so it wasn’t like I planned this). My mind dwelled for a long time that night on “Whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the father through him” (verse 17) and that brought to mind I Corinthians 10:31, “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all to the glory of God”.

So as I lay in bed I was thinking on just what that means. We often say, “do everything for God’s glory” but what do we really mean by it, and what does that look like in an everyday life? How do we do everyday things like school, work, chores, friendships, Facebook, in a way that will bring glory to God? How do you take the simple things and make them glorify God? How do you even, as my mom says, “pee your pants for Jesus”?

Well the basis is a simple statement that I came to a conclusion on, “Find ways to make everything bring glory to God and if there is not a way to do that, do not do that thing.” It’s a simple concept, but a hard one to follow. There are so many pointless things out there. So many things that are truly a waste of time and energy. We need to use prudence and wisdom on what things our worth our time and glorify God.

I started making some resolutions for different areas of my life on how to use them to glorify God. I call them my “Soli Deo Gloria Resolutions” which means “For God’s glory” in Latin. I will be sharing some of them (I am doing it slowly to conquer one area at a time before adding the next) in future posts. I think my next posts will be expanding on this tjcxmnmxn,and I hope that this will be helpful to you and glorifying to God.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Faith

2 responses to “Glorifying God

  1. Wow. that was very good….. thank you for posting that

  2. This is very good. You did an amazing job at this one. Please come and write some of these for my blog if you like.

    This has really helped me, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

