Jesus Paid it All

 The last few days I have had a certain song stuck in my head, and it is a very god song to have stuck. I have been singing it constantly and it has been actually filling me with joy, or should I say the words to the song have. These are the lyrics to the chorus/refrain.

Jesus paid it all,

All to Him I owe;

Sin has left a crimson stain,

He washed it white as snow.

 It is such a true and beautiful hymn. Through the blood of Jesus we are white as snow. God no longer sees our sin, but His son Jesus’ holiness. Isaiah 1:18 says,  

“‘Come now, let us reason together,’
says the LORD.
‘Though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red as crimson,
they shall be like wool.’” (NIV)

 It is such a wonderful promise, that Jesus wipes out all of our sins. Every bad or careless word that we have ever said, every wrong thought, every selfish motive, everything has been made white and pure by the blood shed on the cross. Those who are Christians (and I don’t just mean going to church, reading the Bible, etc. but those who have been truly redeemed by Jesus and are putting their faith in him and love him) are totally forgiven for their sin. Though we will have consequences, we are forgiven. It is such a beautiful and liberating thought.

 But that doesn’t mean we should keep on sinning knowing that Jesus will forgive us. To the adulterous woman that Jesus forgave in John 8:1-11 Jesus said to her, “go, and from now on sin no more” (ESV). A truly repentant heart will be striving to change. As that second line goes, “all to Him I owe”. We owe our all to Jesus, not just some, not just most, all. We owe our obedience and love to the one who loved us first (1 John 4:19) and died for us while we were still wretches(Romans 5:8).
 I want to leave you with the following verse from Hebrews 8:12, “For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.” (KJV) Soli Deo Gloria
 
5 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Faith, Music

5 responses to “Jesus Paid it All

  1. Very good post, Olivia. I too love that song. What truth it possesses.

    Oh, I’ve tagged you over at my blog… check it out! :)

  2. Pearls and Diamonds

    Beautiful meditations, Olivia!

    Blessings,

    Abigail @ Pearls and Diamonds

  3. I love that song! I just learnt to sing that song since I’ve been going to Campus Crusade here at University of Louisville! I’m blessed to see you persevere in the faith… :) Also, God is slowly investing me a love for missions I notice in the past weeks!

  4. MOM

    OK this is funny. I went to post a message and after I hit post, I discovered that the computer thought I was you cuz I guess you never logged out. So, the last comment by “olivia” really was by her mom!

Leave a Reply

