Time Flies

 Well this last Thursday (the 25th of September) something horridly scary happened… my brother Sam turned 18. I told him he wasn’t allowed to become an adult, but he just didn’t listen. It seems so strange that my longtime friend, victim of my childish mischief (I was very mischievous as a little girl), playmate, tickler, confider, music mentor, and chauffeur among other things is all grown up. And next year the sad day will come when he will move on to college. Time sure flies, even when it’s not all fun.

 Having Sam turn 18 is sort of a reminder that life is short. One minute you are making up imaginary sci-fi worlds and the next you are driving around to go Christmas shopping together. Then it will be him going to college, then marriage (weird), then kids (YAY! I want to be an aunt!). Then eventually our time together will be all gone. Life moves on so fast and all we can do is enjoy it and use every minute of it for something that has purpose. I don’t know how much time I have left with Sam, or with anyone else for that matter. So I will live today drawing all the joy and purpose I can from life, and hopefully using it to serve my savior, though I fail miserably at times.  Tomorrow isn’t guaranteed. So live like it.

2 Comments

Filed under Everyday Life

2 responses to “Time Flies

  1. Trey Edwards

    Well said, Olivia!

  2. I remember feeling similarly when my sister got married and then had a baby. It seemed as if it had all happened so fast. One moment she was the new oldest sister from Russia who barely knew English, and now she is happily married and is even a mother.

    -Shawn

Leave a Reply

