Desiring God Conference ’08

 Well I was very blessed to have the privilege to be able to attend the 2008 Desiring God Conference in Minneapolis Minnesota. Though we weren’t able to stay for Saturday night and Sunday morning because of having to get back for church, it was still a great time. When I heard the theme of the conference I wanted to go so bad, since it is “The Power of Words and the Wonder of God”, perfect for an aspiring writer and a thriving talker. By some really cool events that were obviously “God things” in my mind, I was able to go, along with both my parents.

 All the sessions are available for downloading/streaming here. The speakers were Sinclair Ferguson, Bob Kauflin, Mark Driscoll, Daniel Taylor, Paul Tripp, and John Piper (the last two I missed). They were all amazing, spirit-filled, convicting messages, and I think that you can all benefit greatly from the sessions. The first one by Sinclair Ferguson about bridling the tongue was especially convicting, also Driscoll’s had a few things that really convicted me as well. Like always Driscoll kept me laughing the entire time, I especially liked the blogger jokes.

 I got to see a few people that I had met volunteering for the Do Hard Things conference in June. I also had the extreme privilege of meeting Kaysie, from Alabaster Box and Cross Eyed, in person. We didn’t get to spend much time together but just being able to meet each other was great. I also met another blogger on Friday named Andrew. He was sitting in the row in front of me and I noticed his live blogging on his laptop at the first session so I talked to him after. His blog is The Core. Check it out, it is very good.

 It was an amazing conference and a true blessing. The worship was also just amazing! There is something about worshiping with 3,000+ other believers that just amazes me. It makes me think of heaven and worshiping in the direct presence of God with every believer ever to live will be wonderful! I can’t wait! For now though, being able to go to conferences like Desiring God, that has such passionate worship with so many people is a great blessing.

 I hope you guys check out all the audio and video recordings and are blessed by them. Let me know what you think, especially all you bloggers that are brave enough to listen to Driscoll! God bless you all and I am praying for you!

 In Christ,

Olivia

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Desiring God Conference ’08

  1. Hey Olivia,

    It was so good to meet you at the conference! I thank the Lord He allowed that to happen. Even though we didn’t get to talk long, I enjoyed seeing your sweet smile face to face and your enthusiasm for the Lord. God is good. :)

    Have a great day!

  2. MOM

    What a blessing to be able to take you to that conference. I too always love the passionate worship…won’t heaven be awesome??!!

Leave a Reply

