Why Me?

 That question is one that I ask frequently and it should be asked frequently by all Christians. I am not talking about questioning that God is sovereign or in control of a situation. God has his plans and he has them for a reason. What I am talking about is giving thanks to God for his blessings.

 No matter how hard your life is, you don’t deserve your life. The only think that any of us deserve is death. We are sinful, bad people, that deserve death in hell. But if you are a Christian God has chosen you to receive his mercy and grace, and his atoning sacrifice on the cross. He has give you life, freedom, peace that passes understanding, love, joy, hope for tomorrow, he removes our guilt. He has given us more then we could ever of dared to dream of.

 A holy God chose ME. A holy God loves ME. A holy God gave his only son for ME. ME. A dirty, filthy, sinner, without the ability to do right. It doesn’t seem possible. I don’t deserve him. You don’t deserve. No one that has ever lived has deserved God except Jesus. Because we are all born into sin.

 Why would he save us? Because he loves us. I don’t quite know why. I don’t understand that he could love us, even while we were still sinners. (Romans 5:8) I don’t understand how he could let his perfect son die a painful death for me. I don’t understand how he could chose a wretch like me. I don’t think I will ever understand. Ever. Because it is just one of those things far beyond the reach of our small finite minds. It is something so mind blowing that I don’t think we can ever truly take hold of it.

 But in our messed up culture people, even those who claim to be Christians, don’t understand this. They don’t understand that they don’t deserve heaven. They don’t understand that the only thing they deserve is death and eternity in hell. I breaks my heart that in our churches religion is so strong. The belief that we can somehow reach up to God or that we can attain heaven by ourselves. Religion is man trying to reach up to God. I am not a religious person. I know I can never reach up to God. I can’t even try. But God reached down to me. He came down and lifted me up when I was dirty and filthy and depraved.

 Using Ezekiel 16 as an example, I was bloody and unwanted, cast out to die. Then he found me and had compassion on me. He took me in his arms and washed be and clothed me. He looked on me with love. Though I didn’t deserve it. Though no one wanted me. Though I was not worthy of the love of anyone. He rescued me.

 Why me? There is no logical answer that God chose me instead of the person next door. But I thank God every day that he chose me. He didn’t have to, but before I was born he predestined me to receive his grace. It is something that we are not even supposed to know. It is a mystery of God. I encourage you all to thank him for it everyday. If you have been saved by him, it is wrong not to thank him. At the risk of repeating myself, God is holy and we could never deserve him. We need to bow our knees and thank the God of earth and sky for rescuing us. We should constantly be amazed. We need to bask in the wonder of the cross. And let everyday reflect that he has saved us.

Love in Christ,

Olivia <><

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Faith

4 responses to “Why Me?

  1. For by GRACE you were saved… (Eph 2:8)

    Free and unmerited favor. Just that, something we cannot buy (Is 55:1). Something we cannot earn (Eph 2:9).

    So that really doesn’t answer your question because the reason for this unmerited favor is still unknown. I personally wonder if he even has a reason.

  2. ALTON!!!! My favorite guy counselor from Miracle! Well… you are at least tied with Eric. Thanks for commenting. That answer is unanswerable. Only God knows. That is what I was getting at. That he gave so much to us and he loves us and saved us even though we don’t deserve it.

  3. Great thoughts Olivia.
    I love this verse in Ephesians: “He predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of His will, to the praise of His glorious grace, with which He has blessed us in the Beloved.” (1:5-6)

    It is to the praise of His glorious grace! :)

    And what a glorious grace it it…

  4. I really like your post and I think that you are correct. We do not deserve anything good at all, it is only by His infinite love and mercy that we are saved from His great wrath, anger, and justice.

Leave a Reply

