The Wonder Of The Bible

Most of us that have grown up in Christian homes have always been told that the Bible is “God’s letter to us” and “A priceless Treasure”, but how many of our youth today actually believe that? We would much rather read Harry Potter (which I do NOT read) than the book that is breathed out by the creator of the universe! People have died just to be able to get Bibles to people. That is how valuable it is! Yet we have 3 copies at least of the Bible and the only time we open them is at Church or youth-group.

 The Bible also talks about how valuable it is. The longest Chapter in Psalms, which is 119, is all about how amazing the commandments and the word of God is. Most of us have learned verses 9-11 (for sure 11) which is, “How can a young man keep his way pure? By guarding it according to your word. With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments. I have stored up your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.” and 105, “Your word is a lamp unto my feet and a light to my path”. But do we really believe them?

 2 Timothy 3:15-17 talks about how scripture is breathed out by God. Shouldn’t that make it the best thing is the world? It does. Yet we still don’t take it seriously. We just brush it off and just say that we don’t have time to read the Bible or the common phrase, “it’s just SO boring!” or “it’s hard to read”. Yet if we are truly seeking Christ we need to seek out time with him. If I want to be close with my friends I have to spend time with them, it isn’t any different with God.

 So this week I challenge you all (that are not doing so already) to read your Bible EVERY day. This has made the biggest impact on my life! I have learned so much and I can’t tell you how much my relationship with Christ has grown in the last year that I have read my Bible everyday! I have learned so much and it refreshes me. There have been days that the passage that I am reading has to do with something I have been thinking about or something someone had asked me about and it is such a blessing. If you want suggestion on what to read post a comment or email me. Let me know if you do this challenge then tell me how it went and what you learned. Also, for those of you that read the Bible daily already, tell us how it has impacted you.

In Christ, Olivia <><

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith

One response to “The Wonder Of The Bible

  1. That’s so true. I was blown away when I read Psalms 119. David goes on and on about how much he loves God’s word. The ironic part is that I didn’t really want to read that day, but chose too anyway. It was incredible to read just how much David (who is one of my biblical heroes) loved to read and study and dwell on God’s word.

    But to the actual question, reading daily has helped me immensely. I’ve noticed that my days seem to fall apart when I skip my quiet time. The difference is so marked, it’s crazy. And I know I’ve grown a lot spiritual since I’ve started.

    One other thing, I’ve found it useful to have my QT with other people, specifically more mature believers. I’ve learned more that way then I do at any other time. And it’s much easier to remember and a lot harder to skip when you have some else reading with you.

Leave a Reply

