Modern Day Christianity (The Prosperity Gospel)

 Ok, I admit to laughing every single time I watch this. When I showed this to my dad he said, “It would be funny if it wasn’t so sad.” and don’t get me wrong. This is sad and wrong. And people do buy into this concept, usually they don’t put it so bluntly though. I am putting this other video by John Piper on the prosperity gospel then just freeing this all up to conversation and questions. I started writing a long post but I think it would be better just to view this and then discuss it. I hope you enjoy.

In Christ, Olivia

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Modern Day Christianity (The Prosperity Gospel)

  1. Ello everybody!
    I will start out this first conversation (or whatever this is). Why is the prosperity gospel wrong?
    Well because it is idolatry. And it is unbiblical (so is idolatry Exodus 20:3). Jesus promises us suffering, pain and touchier. But he also promises that he will always be right there to “lead us through the valley of the shadow of death”. Jesus also says that it is harder for a rich man to enter heaven than it is for a camel to go through the eye of a needle. (Matthew 17:25) Why? Because money can corrupt us easily and can easily become an idol. Also, when we have health, wealth, and prosperity, we can forget that we even need God. When we become confident in ourselves we become corrupt! Israel as a nation has been a great example. Ezekiel 16 tells the story in a very good way.

    Also, the prosperity gospel says that if we have faith in Christ that everything will go perfect. Well let me tell you from experience that it takes much more faith to believe that God has a plan in the tough times opposed to the good.
    Well I have more to say but little energy left and I am working on brushing up on the five points of Calvinism for a future post (inspired by Josh N.) and have little energy left because I have had a lot of late nights and no mornings to sleep in and it is already almost 11:45, so I should really head up stairs to the comforts of my nice comfy bed. I just wanted to start this out.
    In Christ,
    Olivia

  2. blazingpretzel

    Amen! What more can be said than that? It’s sin. It should be avoided at all costs.

  3. Also, what do we do when the prosperity gospel is being preached from the roof tops (or the largest church in America)? When it is being called biblical and true? Just some thoughts.
    In Christ,
    Olivia

  4. blazingpretzel

    Sorry! I’m not really finished. Did you really think it was as simple as that?

    To sum up what Olivia said before, the prosperity gospel is incorrect and unbiblical. It’s idolatry and sin.

    But why is it so prevalent today? It’s primarily influenced by Western culture. Now there’s plenty to say about that alone, but since it’s getting late, I’ll try to limit myself for now. Let’s stick with this one thought: our culture is one that emphasizes short-term goals, and instant gratification. It’s yet another hard thing that people don’t want to embrace. Our walk with Christ is the path to fulfilling a long-term goal – to be more like Him, and to live with him forever. It can be broken down into steps to some degree, but it is for the long term – the really long term. Just like other goals, it’s hard to fulfill. It’s hard to stick with it day by day. So what do preachers do about that? Often, they’ll skip over the suffering part, and just tell people the “benefits” of Christ – they’ll just tell what’s in it for them (even though what they say is not necessarily what’s in it for them).

    Our family lived in Georgia before we moved to Alabama seven years ago. When we lived there Forsyth County was the fastest growing county in the state (maybe even nationwide). The church we attended was fine when we first joined. However, they really started focusing on “church growth” during our time there. The pastor stopped preaching the Word, and gave the congregation fluff. Nothing of substance, just that feel-good “Jesus loves you” stuff. And they did that just to get a big church. They started preaching a feel-good gospel (not always a prosperity gospel, but just as bad).

    Wow. This got a little longer than I meant for it to. Maybe I should just organize my thoughts and publish them in my own blog in the future.

  5. blazingpretzel

    I just looked at that church’s website and noticed that their pastor isn’t there anymore. I wonder why…

  6. Tim

    That is a powerful piece with John Piper. I really appreciate you posting that, as I would probably have never seen it otherwise.

    Have you read Seeing and Savoring the Savior? I love that book.

    Have you gotten a chance to watch some of John Piper’s dvds? I especially liked his Light the Flame and the other title: Open Their Eyes – Doing Only What God Can Do.

    Those titles are super for firing you up for evangelism and ministry. God really has gifted John Piper. Also, I really liked the Blazing Center dvd set.

    Regarding Health and Wealth. It is insidious because it hides inside of the churches and masks itself within the doctrines of Christ. But, in reality is simply greed and covetiousness.

  7. Josh (blazingpretzel): Great comment! It is SOOOO sad when churches stop pursing Jesus and caring about what he thinks and starts going after people and what they think! Getting a bigger church is on so many minds of pastors in present day America! My friends had this happen to them and their pastor started preaching weird stuff and it was very strange. So now some of them are skeptical (though others are not at all) to help my family with a church plant because that church was a church plant and it went horrible. Though we always do find some really big churches that are VERY bold and preach the gospel with passion and purpose. The first ones that come to mind are: Bethlahem Baptist (John Piper’s church), Mars Hill (Mark Driscoll’s church), Covenant Life Church (Josh Harris and C.J. Mahaney’s church).

    Tim: I actually found the clip from a girl (actually she is 20…) named Kaysie from her blog cross-eyed. It is in my blogroll, I hope you check it out. Also to Piper’s material, my family loves Piper and Desiring God! My dad always comes back from the conference with his book budjet for the year spent (they have this big book store)! I am not reading “Seeing and Savoring the Savior”, but I will look into it. Right now I am reading “Don’t waste you life”. I have seen part of “The blazing Center” and that is good. We listen to sermons from Bethlahem often, especially “Vision for the Next Generation”. And my friend Caleb was in the second sermon (for helping in the nursery!)!!! I was in the car and I heard him name and I was just like “Caleb? The one person I actually know from Bethlahem was mentioned! SWEET!!!” I also got to meet their AWESOME youth pastor at the Do Hard Things conference(which is how I first came in contact with Caleb since he helped me be able to volunteer). That was awesome!!!
    In Christ,
    Olivia
    P.S. I am sorry that this got long :)

  8. Tim

    Olivia,
    I connected to your blog through a comment you made on Erik B.’s blog.

  9. Ok, I was reading Deuteronomy 13 this morning and I was reminded how much God HATES idolatry!!!!!!! The first part of this chapter is about prophets or dreamers that tell you to go after other Gods, then they ordered them to kill those people. (which I do NOT advise!!!!!!!!!!!) It shows just what God thinks of going after other Gods. Also just to point out the verse in Matthew (I am not able to find the exact reference because of time) that says, “You can not love both God and money”. I think that debunks the whole prosperity gospel right there.
    In Christ,
    Olivia

  10. I think the prosperity gospel rides on “God loves you. He’ll always take care of you”. That appeals to people. But the problem is that our culture has the mindset that being taken care of is always having things. People think they’re blessed when they have money, big TVs, cars, and all that stuff.

    Another scripture passage to look at is Galatians 1. That has some harsh words for people who preach a different gospel other than the one Paul told them (the Gospel of Jesus Christ). Paul says to he who preaches another gospel, “may he be accursed”.

    I wish those who preach the prosperity gospel would see the verse after that as well: “Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.” The prosperity gospel is used to please men – not God.

  11. Okay,
    Another scripture reference is 2 Timothy 3:1-4, “But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. 2 For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, 3 heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, 4 treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, 5 having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people.”

    Sound like America!

Leave a Reply

