Baptism

Well before I go to bed (which I should already be in since my friend is coming at 8 am tomorrow!) I want to share something really cool that is going on in my life. I am getting baptised!!!! I am very excited for this. 1) to show publically my faith in Christ and my new life in him. 2) because my dad is baptising me and it is going to be his first baptism!!!! So I am really looking forward to Sunday. My grandma is also coming (she lives about 5 hours away and doesn’t get to visit us much.) with my cousin. It will be great.

 So I want to explain baptism to those of you who do not know the concept. Baptism is a public sign of new life in Christ. In our church (Baptist) we do the whole body going under the watter. It symbolizes dying with Christ and being resurrected with Him. That may sound strange, but think of the verse that says, “Pick up your cross and follow me” or “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me”. I think those two verses explain it nicely. We know have our identity be with and in Christ, and baptism publicly announces that you have taken on Christ and he is now who lives in you. The coming back out of the water also symbolizes the regeneration of our spirit and our new life in Christ.

 So that is what baptism means (simply, there are probably many books on this topic). So know I will just share my testimony.

 By God’s grace, he allowed me to be brought up in a Christian family where the gospel was preached. I knew all my life that Jesus loved me and had died so that I could go to heaven, and I loved Jesus. I remember praying with my mom to accept Christ when I was really little, but she had said that I had done it even before then.

 When I was about seven or so it became something that was real to me. I understood God’s grace better and I knew he had a plan to use me. It may seem strange that a seven year old knows that God is going to use her is amazing ways, but that was (and is) me, strange. I actually had a dream that I was in some sort of orphanage and I was all grown up and working with kids. We had some weird project we were doing with spoons (that part really has no importance, it was very strange) and we were trying to hide them. So I told this one kids to hide them then locked the double doors. Then all of a sudden a red angle appeared. (I don’t know why) but I took him out unto this little Terrance (or some sort of ledge on the side of the building and I started singing songs I knew from VBS and it was pitch black and I could hear the whole world singing along. It was wonderful, until my mom woke me up! Now it was a really strange dream, but now that I am older I am even more freaked out by it because I want to be a music teacher to orphans and really poor kids. But later that day I rededicated my life to Christ, really knowing that he would use ME to serve him. I put it as a little girl, “it seems like the angels are really singing and rejoicing this time”.

 Now that I am getting older his grace is becoming more and more magnificent to me (you should be able to tell by my posts!)!!! My love and passion for Christ is growing steadily, and sometimes even in leaps and bounds. And he is using me! I want my life to be a testimony of what God can do with a person who is ready to serve Him! That is probably my biggest life goal, I would even call it my holy ambition: “to keep an open hand to whatever God has in store for me and to serve him with my heart, mind and strength. To use all I do to bring glory to him and to chase after the things he loves, like justice, kindness, mercy, care of the orphans and widows, wisdom, humility, ect.” (note, this is the first time I actually have wrote this down though it has always been in the back of my mind.)

 So that is my testimony. It is one that I love to think about, because it reminds me that even though I wasn’t some murderess or drug dealer, I have still been saved from torment in hell. We all need to dwell on God’s grace frequently, actually, everyday. I encourage you all to read C.J. Mahaney’s book, The Cross Centered Life. It is really short so it is a fast read, but it has some really good, life changing stuff in it. So I hope you enjoyed hearing my testimony and about my up coming baptism. Please pray that my grandma has a safe trip up here. ~Soli Deo Gloria~

In Christ Alone,

Olivia

3 Comments

Filed under Faith

3 responses to “Baptism

  1. blazingpretzel

    I found a better scripture passage in favor of baptism by immersion. In Romans 6, Paul says “Don’t you know that all of us who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.”

    As usual, this is an excellent post. I liked that you told what baptism symbolizes. I would have liked it if you had emphasized that more though. There are many people who think that you need to be baptized to be saved, or that just being baptized saves you. We need to remember that although Christians are commanded to be baptized, we do it merely out of obedience of Christ. It’s just a sign – not salvation.

  2. Congratulations! My dad is a minister and he baptized me as well. You did a good job explaining what baptism is all about. God’s love for us is amazing. Everyone, no matter who they are, has sinned and all need God’s forgiveness. You made some good points, especially the last one- baptism doesn’t save you. Baptism and going to church do not equal a Christian. Our faith must be in Jesus Christ.

  3. Hey,
    I think I will go and add a more specific part about how baptism is not what saves us but a sign. I totally agree! (Also I am still newer to nonfiction (real life, true) writing (I only started this winter and spring) so feed back and suggestions are much appreciated!) I am very adamant about the whole fact that nothing we do saves us(have you noticed?)!!!! Just like sitting in a garage doesn’t make you a car, going to church, reading the Bible, getting baptised, coming from a Christian home doesn’t make us a Christian. Only faith in Jesus Christ and him choosing us to receive his grace, is what saves us. (If you haven’t noticed from all my previous posts!!!!) I hate seeing nominal, passionless, unchanged people who claim to be Christians, yet are in word only. I am not going to judge them, but when there is no sign of Christ in a life you got to wonder…. (Revelations 3:16, “So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.”) One of the topics that I am going to address soon.
    In Christ,
    Olivia

Leave a Reply

