My Dog Eats Strange Things

 Some of you who know me well have probably heard plenty of stories of my dog. His name is Kermit the Dog, he is a year and a half and is just about the cutest thing EVER! (He is a cacapoo and when he goes without a hair cut, he looks like a miniature English sheep dog!) He has a really cute personality and loves people and his ball (he comes running when we say the word “ball”). The one bad part is the presents he leaves (once inbetween my brother’s sheets!). Oh ya; He also eats some very strange things!

Here is a list of some of the things he has eaten.

  • Plastic bags (ALL the Time!)
  • Bags with fabric in them. (Why he would do that I have no clue!)
  • Kleenex (not too strange I guess.)
  • Shoes (another common one)
  • Candles (why he likes wax who knows!)
  • wicker (Yes, wicker, and more than once!)and my favorite,
  • Fiber glass (how he survived I do not know. My dad was pretty ticked though!)

So far all my posts have been posts with lessons, so you may be wondering why I would put something as random as the strange things that my dog eats. Well this does have a purpose to it. See Kermie likes to eat these thing, even though they are NOT good for him what so ever. He just enjoys the taste of wicker in his mouth, yet it can hurt him.

We as humans do the same thing. We like to have what can hurt us. We desire what devours us. It is part of the lies that the devil throws at us. So many things seem so good to our flesh, yet they really will just hurt us. For those of you who are not familiar with the concept of flesh, it is our sinful nature.

Just Like Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden, sin looks SO tempting, even when we know that it will hurt us. We say to ourselves, “Just one little bite wont hurt me.” when in reality, that one little bite is what will kill us. Sadly, until we get to heaven (assuming you are a Christian) we will always have to fight off sin. Paul talks about in Romans how he wants to do right, but the flesh is so strong, the poison apples so enticing, and he is so imperfect. Jesus tells his disciples many times the night before his crucifiction, “The Spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

We can not win the fight against sin by ourselves. That is the plain truth. I know that sounds very depressing and pessimistic, but it is true. We can not win, But Christ can. God promises not to tempt us beyond our ability. He can bear every temptation that we are given, if we let him. He tells us to pray so that we don’t enter into temptation. When we become Christians, we are given the desire to do right, we don’t always do it. I know that I have the desire to do right, I just don’t always choose to do so.

Let’s face it. The right thing is usually the hard thing. And we usually run away from hard things. They don’t sound “fun” or “exciting”, but they are often necessary. Whenever I use the phrase “hard things” or :”do hard things” I think of the rebelution and Alex and Brett Harris. They know full well that running from temptation is a hard thing, but they also realize that all effort, even failed effort, builds muscles. The more we strive to fight sin, the better we become at it.

Just to clarify something, when we become Christians we are saved right away. We are Justified immediately. What I am talking about is the process of sanctification. Which is the process of becoming more like Christ. Becoming holy. We can’t do it on our own but Christ in us can.

I hope you all learned something from my very strange dog. If he was able to understand, I am sure he would be honored. May God bless you all.

~~~Soli Deo Gloria~~~

Nobody <><

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “My Dog Eats Strange Things

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

