My Heroes (Part 1, Amy)

Well I have many heroes. Many people have impacted my lives by the way they have lived theirs. I thought I would start this series on one of my biggest role models and heroes, Amy Carmichael.

Amy lived over a hundred years ago in Ireland. She was the oldest of eight kids and was the one that got everyone ELSE in trouble. She was always spunky (like me right?). When she was in her late teens she started working with the poor women and children in her town. She worked tierlessly with the shawlies (who worked in factories and were so poor they wore shawls instead of a coat and a hat) and the little “ragamuffins” of the town. She built a place of worship for these poor women to meet for services and prayer.

The Carmichael family made a magazine called Scraps where the family contributed drawings, poetry, and some of Amy’s articles. All of the children took on pen names, from one of the younger boy’s S.S.I (Silly Silly Idiot) to Amy’s “Nobody”. (If you didn’t get it, that’s where I got my name.)

I’ll skip over allot of Amy’s personal life and skip to her work. She went to Japan for a while when she felt the call of God on her heart to missions. She was there for awhile, but she got sick and was forced to leave. Later, in 1895, at 27 years of age, Amy left for India. She stayed there for 56 years! Without a single furlough!

When in India, Amy found some very disturbing problems. From having missionaries that sat around and ate bon-bons (more or less) to seeing young girls be given to temples as prostitutes to appease the “gods”. She found the last one the most disturbing and decided to stop it. In 1901 she “kidnapped” (rescued) her first girl, her name was Preena (If you want her full story, contact me, I wrote a speech on it.). More and more girls came to live with Amy and her small family of native believers. Some girls were given by their parents because in the Hindu religion girls weren’t as valuable as boys, other girls ran away from temples or the older girls ran away from their families, who were abusing them because of their faith. Then in 1918 she had her first boy, which grew into more and more.

Amy never married, but she had hundreds of children. Amy touched thousands of lives, through her work with the shawlies, the Japanese people, the Indian people, through her writings, and through her example. Her work is still continued to this day.

Amy’s impact on me:

 Amy has made such an impact on my life! Her faith and devotion is so inspiring to me. God used her rebellion for his glory, which is one of my biggest prayers. She was a rebel with a reason, and a very good one at that. She definitely falls under the category of rebelutionary (those of you who don’t know what that is, talk to me).

  Amy did more than just give me an example of faith, she showed me India. Ever since I was 7 and I read a biography on her, I have had a passion to reach people in India with the gospel. I know that sounds young, but God uses whoever he pleases. Amy showed me the pain behind India, yet shared her love for the people. India isn’t just India, it’s MY India!

 

I want all of you to learn more about this amazing woman. She has written some books, look them up on Amazon and Google her, look her up on Wikipedia. One book written ABOUT her is A CHANCE TO DIE, THE LIFE AND LEGACY OF AMY CARMICHAEL. It is written by Elisabeth Eliot (who’s husband was Jim Eliot, who’s story is in the move End of The Spear.) and I am currently reading it. It is awesome and a very good look at her life, including interesting stories.

I hope you all enjoyed hearing about the woman who’s name this blog came from. May God bless you and keep you. Soli Deo Gloria

Nobody <><  <><

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, heroes, Missions

Leave a Reply

